Mapquest and Google Maps – Pain in the arse

Posted: November 7, 2008 in General Area
Tags: , ,

After attempting to plan a road trip, by using four different sources of navigational plotting, I realized how bad Mapquest and Google Maps is. First off, I can’t set the speed I will be driving the majority of the way, actually, I can’t set the damn speed at ALL. Most Californians drive an average of 70-85mph, this isn’t insane or crazy, it’s just our speed of choice. I push it and drive about 90-110 on certain stretches of the freeway. After much googling, Ive found that the difference between Mapquest and using Google Maps (on your iphone with GPS) is that Google Maps, actually takes in current driving conditions, which will give you a more accurate time of arrival. Using a Magellan GPS system (an older one I have I use for hiking primarily) I can actually set in the MPH I am going to drive, which gives me a much better and accurate time of arrival.

A mapquest query of how long it will take me to drive from Claremont California to Los Angeles say it is 34.71 miles and will take me an estimated 40 minutes. This is a trip I did on Halloween night in 26 minutes , timed from starting my car to exiting Sunset Boulevard.

A different query, from Los Angeles to San Francisco, states it will take 6 hours and 51 minutes, which is a total trip distance of 410 miles,, well thats just retarded, Ive driven from Los Angeles to San Francisco, and check into my hotel in Union Square in 4 hours and 45 minutes, not going over 100mph at any time.

Anyways, enough complaining, Mapquest and Google Maps, you’ve added the retarded feature of “walking” time, please enter a box where you could input your own speed, only a retard drives 65 or 55mph, not even our senior citizens drive that slow.

Comments
  1. Fourthletter says:

    You can’t set the speed with google maps because it is a mapping program not a real-time GPS service.
    You generally pay a subscription for turn by turn real-time GPS because you have to use GPS satellites to track you.
    Google maps/earth is an amazing program you just need Tom Tom or something similar.

  2. quxina enjoys stockings says:

    What was it like before much googling you have found that the difference between Mapquest and using Google Maps on my iphone with GPS is that Google Maps actually takes in current driving conditions which will give me a more accurate time of arrival ?

  3. Iphone app, which uses google maps is a real time GPS service, therefore, just like a Tom Tom, it should change the time of arrival as a Tom Tom would, or delay it because traffic conditions.

  4. Ladybird@girlsandnylons says:

    What was it like before much googling you have found that the difference between Mapquest and using Google Maps on my iphone with GPS is that Google Maps actually takes in current driving conditions which will give me a more accurate time of arrival ?

Leave a Reply

