I have been with Crossloop since it was in beta, were talking years here. I love Crossloop, it’s free, it’s simple, it works on my PC ( down to just one of those now lol) and all flavors of my Apples (iMac, Macbook Pro, etc), and it just works, it doesn’t get much better than that. Walking through a grandmother or complete non-techie is simple and within minutes you can be on a computer thousands of miles away helping your friends or family, or clients.

Like every application that doesn’t end up being vaporware, it has it’s stages of growth, and from my point of view, Crossloop has gracefully exited it’s “baby steps” years,  and it now in its critical “teenage” years. These years are critical, because it’s typically when the idea and conceptual designs mature into the general direction of the software, and the company’s goals start to become clear.

I believe that Crossloop will always have a free component, that retains it’s foundational elements and features. Taking any of these away and migrating them into a paid version, obviously would upset it’s free users user base, and detract future customers. I don’t believe Crossloop would do that, they’ve come this far and did such a great job at it, it wouldn’t make sense. However there is a key phrase to play with here when I make that statement, “it wouldn’t make sense” , and that phrase is “it wouldn’t make sense to the users“. From an investor or a corporate ideology, it makes perfect sense to make that retarded (sorry Palin) mistake and take functionality from the existing free users. Why? It’s simple really. The greatest online media business strategy these days is to give your product away for free. Look at Firefox, Facebook, Twitter, hell even Wordpres. They all give their product away for free. The catch? There really isn’t one, it’s more like a internal marketplace to sell other ideas, that do cost money. Let me elaborate, take Myspace for example. At it’s peak, it had somewhere around 65-70 million users. So effectively, that leaves a huge marketplace to sell a product right? How about charge $1 dollar for a lifetime usage of a myspace template editor? If I sold it to only 35% of my users, I’d make $22,750,000.oo, which I could easily do with a taggable campaign or even a simple but effective banner campaign. Next month I just shift it to another cheap, yet logical product.

My point in elaboration here, is that I feel that I have spoken and interacted with the friendly staff at Crossloop on numerous occasions, hell they have even posted back in my blog after I wrote about them on several instances. They are friendly people it appears.

I understand that for a lot of businesses their main goal is to become huge then sell, shit even I practice that technique. But for some, the foundation remains true and the product remains free. Firefox will never charge for a download. Safari , bad choice, ummm, Google will never charge for a search.

In the last year I can honestly say that I’ve developed a rather bad taste towards a large aspect of Crossloop. That’s the “Hire an Expert” aspect. I don’t give a shit if I come off cocky here, but righteously so, the usage of the word expert falls tremendously short for 99% of those individuals on there. They are completely self proclaimed. Let me elaborate. It is a very rare situation when I need to ask someone else for technical help, but a few months ago, a respected friend and colleague of mine were trying to implement a timekill based off a pre-set time being pulled from the us.navy.mil time clock in Excel. Now for those of you not familiar with what I just said, we were basically trying to get an Excel document to automatically “kill” (delete) itself with a pre-defined line of instructions that would compare the current date on the computer to the date on a public government website. It’s just been so damn long since I’ve worked in Excel, that I just forgot the set of instructions. I mean this is simple shit here folks.

Know how many “Experts” that specifically had EXCEL EXPERTS in their profiles I went through? 9… yes NINE…and in the end, I just continued on a more targeted Google search until I got my results and completed the two sentences of instructions in the Excel workbook.

All nine of those individuals fell grossly short of knowing anything remotely close to writing formulas or instructions in Excel. As a matter of fact, they seemed to me, like they were the run of the mill GeekSquad retards, or ITT /Devry guys.

An expert, a guru, means you posses a complete knowledge of the material you claim to know. (Not the actual definition but rather a commonsense presumption) If you say you “know” Macbooks, you should know not only how to use shortcuts, or how to navigate via terminal, you should also know how to disable and enable and re-program the AMS sensor. You should know different networking protocols like AFP, VNC, FTP, and how to network with another Apple or a PC or how to compile and disassemble mpkgs . If you say you know PC’s you should know what services (services.msc) you can and cannot safely turn off in XP, Vista, Win 7, you should completely know your way around the registry and command prompt, and you should definitely know how to extract Viruses and worms without using a third party app. You should also know your hardware, and how to perform vdimm adjustments on your video cards, how to replace broken transistors and heat popped capacitors before telling someone to go fork out $150 for a new motherboard when the fix is only $1.23 for a new capacitor.

Most of these noobs are just out to make a buck. They take advantage of old ladies and people that just want their computers to work, and charge them for it. They spread mis-information and myths about computers, and sadly they are now using Crossloop as a medium to syndicate themselves beyond the reach of their local town or city. Crossloop needs a surefire way to weed out the non-talent, some type of way to provide solid credentials.

I have an account on Crossloop, and the link is to the right, but even though it says something like $20-30 an hour, I will offer help for FREE, so ignore that price-tag. As long as I’m available I will help for free. And I guess I should say, this is a limited time offer, until Crossloop creates a way to seed out the rookies from their great service. So take advantage…

Click “I CAN HELP” to the right. or post a comment to this post and leave a legit contact email.

Comments
  1. Aditya says:

    David,

    Thank you for taking the time to write bout CrossLoop, and express you pleasure in the product as well as suggestions. We really appreciate our users and love hearing their thoughts on how we can better improve their user experience. Your suggestion about filling the market with solid experts who have credentials is something I will personally take back and recommend internally to see if we can make that more of cause. Please let us know if you have anymore suggestions or comments through email or twitter: @crossloop

Leave a Reply

