I had to post about the grossly frequent billboard campaign going on in Southern California by Allergan Inc (the Lap Band). Seems like it gets a lot of attention, not all of it being good. However the techie aspect of it all is that they lack a dominant online campaign, and if they do have a ongoing online campaign, there not doing a great job of it. Cost per impression is relatively cheaper with online than I imagine their billboard campaigns to cost, however you’d want to run them concurrently. An acquaintance of mine is running a really good electronic cigarette campaign, that I have, on more than one occasion, came across banners on the web, and I imagine he is running a smaller budget than Lap Band.

Personally, I get a kick out of seeing the billboards consecutively, and on a recent commute to Marina Del Ray, I counted a total of 34 billboards with Lap Band, that my friends, is advertising at it’s best.

Leave a Reply

