Gilt Group

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Opinions and Rants
Tags: , ,

Not to long ago, a colleague of mine told me about Gilt Group, at the time it was a “members only” fashion retailer. “Members only” meaning you had to be invited from another member. I don’t think it works the same way anymore, anyone can register and become a member now. Also the prices are no longer discount prices for high end fashion. Gilt group sells quiet a bit of brands on that note. Brands range from Burberry, Gucci, Tumi, Skotch & Soda, just to name a slight few.

What I did like in the beginning was that if I referred a friend and they signed up and spent more than $100 (which wasn’t to hard), I received a $50 credit to Gilt Group.

Since the few short weeks/months since I signed up, it’s just been a downhill experience. First and foremost, the merchandise was supposed to be discounted, at least, why else would you become a member to a site that offers prices that are not discounted right? There would be very limited reasons to not just buy direct from the retailer if the prices are not discounted.

Most of the items that do seem like a decent deal are sold out, which nobody should say “well that would make sense, good deals go fast“. No, that’s not what I mean. When I receive an email at 8am about “New Items”, and immediately click that email and go to the website, a lot of the products already say “Sold Out”. That just doesn’t make sense.

Lastly, the most annoying aspect, which of course you can stop (actually you can’t), is the daily emails. It’s nice to be reminded of great deals going on, I can honestly say I read EVERY Newegg.com email that I receive, sometimes it’s once a week, sometimes it’s three times a week. It is NOT everyday like the Gilt Group. And the deals are not even great.

Soooo, yup…there it is, in a rant

UPDATE: 3 days since opting out of all email communication from Gilt Group, I am still receiving emails!

Leave a Reply

