Find your Hackintosh support here!

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Apple, Hack
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Good news fellow followers, since I’ve finally taken the time to really dive into the build process, the development and implementation of the kexts and compatibility issues with my own Hackintosh, I’ve realized a lot of you might be lost in this whole process.  It can seem overwhelming at first even for a veteran techie like myself I found myself having to google certain solutions in the beginning. All in all I found that 99% of the time I looked for support, the support was to say the least…shitty. Either I never received a response, or the response was extremely vague.

In the tech world the largest problem when doing any type of support is that there are so many different equipment manufacturers and different versions of firmware or BIOS and hardware models it makes it difficult to test each variable.

I recommend that you first always pre-check and RE-check the compatibility here: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page This wiki proved to be the most useful resource, raw knowledge and common sense turned out to be the second best resource lol.

Kexts are Mac’s version of Windows drivers, so just think of it that way to simplify terminology. When you hear or read someone saying, “just replace the voodoo_kext blah blah with the gnome kext”, all there saying is replace the voodoo drivers with the gnome drivers, see not so hard right?

Now I set myself up with the most vanilla of setups in the beginning, and once I felt comfortable that I could duplicate the method, then I started to mess with variables, like different graphic cards, dual and triple OS boots, and custom kexts (drivers) for better GPU performance. In the end, I ended up running an overclocked 3ghz quad core @ 3.6ghz, and 16gb @ 1600mhz, with dual Nvidia GPU’s. This “Mac Pro” desktop setup would literally have cost me over 9k, and I put this together for around  $2,200, including the magic mouse and trackpad. I currently run 10.6.4 and will most likely have to tweak or delete some of the kexts with the next update which is a major one coming up, however this computer simply ROCKS.

If you find yourself needing help or want to have someone help guide you, drop me a comment and I’ll be sure to reach out to ya and help you out.

Cheers!

 

-David aka Exempt

Comments
  1. ian kupczyk says:

    Hi David,

    I am not sure where to start but… if you could help me or direct me in the right direction…
    Here is my situation
    I have two machines: Samsung R540 and Asus 1201NL
    On Asus I already have a working OS X install – there are some issues but it works. However the other machine is very picky and I cannot make my Samsung accept OS X.
    I have tried many install tutorials and HowTo’s but for the life of me I cannot make it work.
    Briefly, here are some of the details of my machine
    Intel i5 450M
    (2.40 GHz / L2 cache 3 MB)
    4 GB (2 GB + 2 GB) / max. 4 GB DDR3
    ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD545V
    Basically the system will not boot OS X DVD with Cameleon and no OSX86 works except iDeneb which after install always crashes on boot.
    Any suggestion?

    • David says:

      I just got the blog notification, I’m in LA traffic right now, but I can help you later this evening, pacific standard time, I’ll contact you via email !

      Cheers!

  2. Izzi says:

    David.
    I have a question to ask.
    Actually I already have my hackintosh working.the thing is after I update to 10.6.6 my quartz extreme gone..its no longer running.my video looks suck, and everything seems problem to me.

    1. I think my QE is gone..how can I re-enable it again?

    i would appreciate if you can email me..

    • David says:

      Sorry for the delayed response, it’s been a hectic weekend! Ok so with 10.6.6 there are subtle changes to the graphics kexts that add support for a few new video cards, however it was nothing incredible. What have you tried so far to get it working again? ( I don’t want to accidentally recommend instructions yet and possibly cause further issues). This is a relatively simple fix but we may have to uninstall/delete older graphic related kexts before we move on.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

