Ok boys and girls, this one was a major pain in the ass to figure out. Updating from either a vanilla, or iatkos s3 install from 10.6.x to 10.6.5 on the EP45-UD3P proved to be more trouble than it was worth (for me), but in the end I was able to get the full functionality back.

10.6.5 replaces IOUSB kexts as well as somewhere it disables Quartz Extreme, probably ousting one of the injectors. Modifying your plist with the <key>GraphicsEnabler</key> and repairing permissions did NOT work for me. After removing NVinject, NVenabler, and a few others and repairing as well did NOT work.

For usb functionality to come back, it was a simple fix, I ran Multibeast>Easybeast, repaired permissions and voila! back to business.

For kext installation you can simply drag and drop and sudo diskutil repairpermissions / in terminal if this doesn’t work, then try /sbin/fsck -fy , or diskutil verify / or  just use Kext Helper which is the “easy as sunday morning” installer for newbies and check the box for “repair permissions“. There is also a tonyx86 version called KextBeast, but personally I haven’t used it so I can’t say which is better.

So in my case, my Nvidia 9800GTX+ 512mb card had lost QE ability, though the proper resolutions were supported on boot, I couldn’t start FCP or any quartz reliant application, dock moved choppy as well as expose. Using the more hacker friendly site Kexts.com proved to be the most useful knowledge I could openly ask for on the web. While a lot of other sites pussyfooted (emphasis on “pussy”) discussion about hackintosh setups, at Kexts.com you can openly discuss your distro and setup. I literally went through every applicable option to re-enable the quartz on the card, it went as follows:

Nvidia vanilla kexts: didn’t work

Nvidia drivers (tweaked by tony): didn’t work

EasyGFX: worked on my i7 setup but not on my EP45-UD3P setup

NVEnabler by Krazubu: didn’t work and yeeesss I ran: ioreg -lw0 > NVEnabler_ioreg_dump_$USER.txt

x-darwin: didn’t work

NVEnabler – NVinject – Natit for 10.6.4: WORKED, however here’s the oddest part of this, when running the downloaded 10.6.4 package and updating from 10.6.3. I still lost quartz extreme. however updating to 10.6.5 from 10.6.4 then rolling back the kexts to 10.6.4 re-enabled quartz… funny isn’t it?

Not really to me. Frustrating to me more than anything else.

Now that the process has been ran through the washer, it’s a simple rinse and repeat for anyone else. And if you need help or if I lost you in the geek-speak, then feel free to drop a comment, I’ll be listening. I’m always listening, waiting and watching. Just kidding, that’s just plain creepy.

Cheers.

Comments
  1. robert says:

    Just happened to me. Hopefully I can get it working again.

    • robert says:

      Got it working after updating to 10.6.5. Weird it wouldn’t enable for me in 10.6.4 either. Glad I wasn’t the only one.

      • David says:

        Yah it’s weird isn’t it? I compared kexts before and after and I must have missed something because it looks as if the injections were never touched, but oddly enough replacing them with themselves re-enables it. Even odder, is I ran a separate test with iacktos install, which if nothing is updated, leaves you in 10.6.3, so I *only* ran two updates, one for iphoto and one for aperature, and upon reboot, Quartz was disabled. Well I’m glad you got it working, if you run into any problems let me know. 🙂

        Cheers,
        David aka Exempt

  2. Daniel says:

    David –

    I’m badly in need of some help here. I installed iATKOS s3v2 and I can get to the OSX desktop, but from there I’m stuck.

    For my OSX86 machine, I have an HP DV2000t laptop.
    – Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo T5300(1.73GHz/2MB L2Cache)
    – 14.1″ WXGA BrightView Widescreen (1280×800)
    – 128MB NVIDIA GeForce Go 7200
    – 320GB 5400 RPM
    – Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network w/Bluetooth
    – 4GB of RAM

    The hard drive is clean, I just bought it, partitioned it (50GB for OSX), and installed OSX on it using nawcom’s boot CD and iATKOS S3 v2. I’d like to eventually install Windows 7 on it too.

    It boots to the desktop every time, but none of the nvidia kexts have worked for me. I got really confused when editing the nv40hal kext plist.

    I went into an IRC chat, and they were saying to use dsdt injections and EFI strings were useless, but that confused me because Tony’s Macblog said you need dsdt injections AND efi strings.

    I feel like I’m close … and would really appreciate any time you have. My goals are to get video (w/QE) working, ethernet, and wireless.

    • David says:

      Sorry about the delayed response, been in and out of town. I think I have a fix for your problem, but first well need to uninstall all the previous kexts for Nvidia that you have, and repair permissions, are you familiar with the process?

      • Daniel says:

        Yes, I know how to delete kexts from the extensions folder. And I know how to repair permissions.

        Can we correspond over email or via phone? I will pay you for your time.

Leave a Reply

